May 12, 2021

2021 KLC Awards – Nominate Now!

2021 Awards! Nominate Now Through July 15, 2021.

Since 1999, the Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) has been recognizing cities, city officials and city employees for their contributions to the commonwealth. The annual awards program for Elected City Official of the Year, the City Employee of the Year and the City Government of the Year is an opportunity to recognize the exceptional work being done by Kentucky cities and the people leading them. For 2020, there were more than 50 awards nominations.

J.D. Chaney, KLC Executive Director/CEO, said, “The annual awards program shines a light on the great work that officials and employees are doing in our Kentucky cities.” He said most recently, with COVID-19, cities and city officials have taken the lead in keeping communities safe, assisting businesses and continuing to provide services during this historic time. “Cities have fully demonstrated their importance in our daily lives.”

The award winners, selected by an independent panel of judges, are:

  • Recognized in their home city with a local award presentation 
  • Featured in local and statewide media and social media 
  • Honored during the annual 2021 KLC Conference & Expo 
  • Honored with a donation to a local charity of their choice, thanks to our longtime sponsors

The Elected City Official of the Year Award recognizes a dynamic official who demonstrates outstanding leadership and innovation. KLC represents more than 380 cities and nearly 2,500 elected city officials. Submit a Nomination - Elected City Official of the Year

The City Employee of the Year Award brings recognition to an exceptional city employee who performs at a distinguished level to improve his or her local government and community. KLC is proud to represent more than 20,000 municipal employees. Submit a Nomination - City Employee of the Year

The KLC City Government of the Year Award recognizes a city that has done something transformational. Submit a Nomination - City Government of the Year

View a video about last year’s winners and get more information here.