September 10, 2020

Congratulations! Announcing the 2020 KLC Awards Nominees

2020 has been a time of unprecedented challenges. Kentucky cities and city leaders always play a crucial role in the success of our communities and commonwealth. This year demonstrates that better than most.

Part of our KLC mission is to spotlight the remarkable things happening in Kentucky cities and recognize the people doing the work - city officials and city employees. Since 1999, KLC has been recognizing Kentucky cities and city people making a difference with our annual awards program.  It’s your time to shine. 

Winners will be announced during the 2020 KLC Virtual Conference & Expo, September 21-25. 

City Elected Official of the Year - Elected city officials doing visionary, influential work.
Sponsored by Adams, Stepner, Woltermann & Dusing, PLLC
Commissioner Anna Allen-Edwards, Paris
Mayor Al Botts, Mt. Sterling
Mayor Kevin Cotton, Madisonville
CouncilmemberJanet Edwards, Oak Grove
Former Mayor Scotty Ernst, (deceased), Stanford
Councilmember Carol Franzen, Independence
Commissioner Luke Glaser, Hazard
Mayor Brent Hagan, Lyndon
Mayor Brandi Harless, Paducah
Mayor Scotty Harvey, Nortonville
Mayor Dave Hatter, Fort Wright
Mayor Richard Heaton, Bardstown
Mayor Alan Keck, Somerset
Mayor Charles King, Hawesville
Councilmember Marna Kirkpatrick, Glasgow
Mayor Marty Lenhof, Elsmere
Mayor Jimmy Lewellen, Ghent
Mayor Paul Meier, Crestview Hills
Mayor Billy Phelps, Morgantown
Mayor Bob Rogers, Murray
Mayor James Smith, 
Mayor Les Stapleton, Prestonsburg
Mayor Mark Stratton, Russellville
Mayor Brian Traugott, Versailles

Commissioner of Parks and Public Works Jessie Zagaruyka, Stamping Ground

City Employee of the Year City employees innovating/giving 110% to public service.
Sponsored by Freeman Mathis & Gary, LLP
Glenda Boisseau-Massey, Parks Maintenance, Russellville
Toni Burton, City Clerk, Hodgenville
Jeremy Creason, Fire Chief, Mayfield
Tabitha Dearing, Safety Director, Russellville
James Dezarn, Maintenance Supervisor, Crittenden
Tom Dickson, Police Chief/City Street Foreman, Clinton
Sally Gilbert, City Clerk & Treasurer, Beattyville
Sally Hamilton, Chief Administrative Officer, Lexington
Mitzi Kasitz, City Clerk,  Shively
Matthew Kremer, Chief Administrative Officer, Erlanger
Helen Lee, City Clerk, Fulton
Anthony Lee, Public Works Supervisor, Muldraugh
Mike Perry, Director of Public Works, Hopkinsville
Bailey Richards, Downtown Coordinator, Hazard
Jenny Shouse, Account Clerk, Morganfield
Brian Sumner, Police Chief, Taylorsville
Roberta Webb, City Clerk, Corbin
Bulinda Willis, City Clerk, Ghent

City Government of the Year - Cities demonstrating quality governance through an innovative program, project, policy, service or response to a challenge that makes a difference for citizens and elevates the community.
Sponsored by Collins & Company, Inc.
City of Bardstown
City of Beaver Dam
City of Hazard
City of Hopkinsville
City of Middletown
City of Morgantown
City of Shelbyville
City of Somerset