September 15, 2023

Kentucky G.R.A.N.T. Program

Beginning last year, the federal government allocated more than $3 trillion in competitive grants and prioritized 25 areas for billions in projects. Kentucky has two of the locations ‒ one includes 21 counties in eastern Kentucky, and the other is 20 counties in western Kentucky ‒ priming the commonwealth to receive major federal investments.

A majority of nonprofits surveyed by Grant Ready Kentucky said that grant match requirements are a significant barrier to accessing federal funding.

To mitigate this problem, Kentucky nonprofit advocates championed House Bill 9, the Government Resources Accelerating Needed Transformation (G.R.A.N.T.) Program, sponsored by Representative Richard Heath (R-Mayfield) and cosponsored by ten representatives.

The G.R.A.N.T. Program establishes an innovative grant matching fund in Kentucky, enabling better access to federal resources for nonprofit projects in the 41 federally identified counties. Any nonprofit, local government, Area Development District (ADD), or coalition of these entities can apply for the matching component of a federal grant.

These federal grants cover a broad array of services and projects ‒ infrastructure, housing, workforce development, STEM education, agriculture, substance use disorder treatment, and more. The list is broad and expansive.

The Kentucky Department for Local Government (DLG) will administer the program and prioritize public benefit projects in 41 Kentucky counties that have seen significant energy job losses. Counties not included on the list can apply as part of a regional coalition, if the federal grant project impacts one of the designated 41 counties.

KLC encourages our member cities to participate in the program. The Department for Local Government will have a webinar and additional training on the G.R.A.N.T. Program in the coming weeks. KLC will share information on those dates as soon as we receive it.

You can access the G.R.A.N.T. Program application here.

Counties included in HB 9:

Eastern Kentucky: Bell, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, and Wolfe.

Western Kentucky: Ballard, Breckinridge, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Todd, Union, and Webster.