September 17, 2020

KY Fire Chief of the Year Nominations due Sept. 18

The Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) Insurance Services is proud to annually sponsor the Kentucky Association of Fire Chiefs (KAFC) Career Fire Chief of the Year Award.  

2020 Nominations are due September 18.   
Nomination form. 

The Kentucky Association of Fire Chiefs Fire Chief of the Year awards honor both a volunteer and career fire chief from the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Do you know a fire chief worthy of being the Kentucky Fire Chief of the year?   Now is the time to nominate that chief.

  • Individuals who are eligible for nomination and selection as Fire Chief of the Year are limited to active chiefs of departments.
  • Selection criteria will emphasize leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, service to the public and contributions to the fire service as a whole.
  • All of a nominee's fire service activities and accomplishments will be considered, but, because this is the Fire Chief of the Year award, special emphasis will be placed on the period from July 2019 through July 2020. A nominee's command role at a major emergency incident, while relevant, will not be enough to place that individual into contention for the award.
  • Nomination form

The 2019 winner was Chief Thomas Arnold - Eastwood Fire District in Jefferson County.

For more information, contact Chief Danny Castle at the KAFC.   

Chief Arnold with KLC Insurance Services Senior Marketing Agent Howard Rosewell.