

For Immediate Release: October 4, 2013

For More Information: KLC Communications - 1.800.876.4552 or 859.977.3700

NEWS RELEASE

Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer Named Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) Elected City Official of the Year

Covington, KY- Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer received the 2013 Elected City Official of the Year Award during the Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) Conference & Expo in Covington on Friday, October 4. The Elected City Official of the Year Award brings recognition to city officials that demonstrate leadership, innovation and commitment to community advancement. An independent panel of judges selected Fischer as the award winner and Taylor Mill Mayor Daniel Bell as the runner-up.

"Mayor Fisher is a shining example of all that is good about cities. His commitment to compassion, literacy, innovation and health are transformative," said Jonathan Steiner, KLC Executive Director/CEO.

"He is a tireless worker in building a climate where every citizen matters and his focus on investing in Louisville is paying huge dividends for the city and the Commonwealth," said Steiner.

The judges recognized Mayor Fischer's accomplishments during a relatively short time in office since 2010. His belief that efficiency drives successful government led to the implementation of LouiesStat, an outcomes-based program that has increased productivity and transparency across services from garbage collection to animal adoption. Mayor Fischer is leading a city of vibrancy and innovation, and he's putting an emphasis on young people, which earned Louisville the title of "Best City for Young Entrepreneurs."

"He's also a tremendous collaborator... across his city, the Commonwealth and the nation," said Steiner.

For all his accomplishments, Mayor Fischer is first and foremost a proud Louisvillian. His passion for the city is catching on and getting noticed. Among many accolades, Louisville has most recently been named a top travel destination, the most social savvy city in America and the fourth fastest growing economy in the U.S.

This is the fifth year for the KLC Elected City Official of the Year Award which was sponsored by Adams, Stepner, Woltermann & Dusing, PLLC. Previous Elected City Official of the Year winners include Wilmore Mayor Harold Rainwater (2009), Pikeville City Manager Donovan Blackburn (2010), Prospect Mayor Todd Eberle (2011) and Lebanon Mayor Gary Crenshaw (2012).